L SHUKORUUM ONLINE: Once again, the Chairman of Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) Board of Directors (LPU) has been appointed as the Chairman of the Council of Chairpersons of the Board of Directors of Malaysian Public Universities (MPLPU) for the year 2021-2022. This selection was made during the 8th MPLPU Meeting which convened last Monday.

The reappointment of the Chairman of the UUM Board of Directors as the Chairman of MPLPU is for the third consecutive term since the first appointment in early 2018.

The MPLPU which was established in 2014 had the Chairman of Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) LPU as its first Chairman for 2014/2015 followed by the Chairman of Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) LPU as its second Chairman for 2016/2017.

The 8th MPLPU meeting which was held by teleconference via Webex was chaired by Tan Sri Dr. Mohd Shukor Mahfar at the Senate Meeting Room.

Tan Sri Dr Mohd Shukor who chaired his first meeting, expressed his appreciation and gratitude over the support he received from all the Chairman of the other Public Universities for his appointment. 

Among the matters discussed during the meeting were university governance and future planning of universities at a time when the country is still faced with the COVID-19 pandemic.

MPLPU is a platform for all the Chairpersons of the Board of Directors of Public Universities (UA) to discuss matters, coordinate and disseminate information that can be of interest to the universities and in accordance with the MPLPU Reference Terms.

Also present at the meeting which was held at the Senate Meeting Room was the representative of the Chairman of UniMAP Board of Directors, Mr Ridzuan Ishak.

A total of 14 Chairmen and three representatives of the Chairpersons of the Board of Directors of Public Universities participated in the MPLPU meeting this time. Chairman of UKM Board of Directors, Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar; Chairman of IIUM Board of Directors, Datuk Dr Daud Bakar; Chairman of UPNM Board of Directors, Tan Sri Dr. Syed Azman Syed Ibrahim; Chairman of UTM Board of Directors, Tan Sri Abd Halim Ali; Chairman of UiTM Board of Directors, Dato' Sri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir and Chairman of UMK Board of Directors, Dato' Hussamudin Yaacub as well as the registrar of UUM, Mr Baharudin Yaacob as MPLPU Secretary were among those present at the meeting.